



SPC media release

Rainwater tank manufacturing facility opens in Niue

Friday 20 December 2013, Secretariat of the Pacific Community (SPC) Alofi, Niue, -



The Premier of Niue, the Honourable Toke Talagi, officially opened a new plastic tank moulding facility on Thursday last week. The opening was attended by about 100 people, a considerable turnout in the small island nation of Niue, which has a population of around 1,500.

The purpose-built facility is equipped to manufacture 5,000 litre plastic tanks suitable for rainwater storage.

The European Union (EU) is contributing € 0.5 million (approximately NZD 800,000) to the rainwater harvesting initiative of Government of Niue. This funding is delivered by the Secretariat of the Pacific Community (SPC) through the Global Climate Change Alliance: Pacific Small Island States (GCCA: PSIS) project, an € 11.4 million regional project supporting nationally-led climate change adaptation initiatives in nine Pacific countries.

'The facility is an important milestone in reducing Niue's vulnerability and increasing resilience in the water sector due to climate change variability. The production of rainwater tanks on the island is a significant achievement and highlights the government's commitment to adapting to the effects of climate change,' said Richard Hipa, Secretary to Government.

Tanks have begun rolling off the production line at a rate of approximately eight per day. The tanks

are being supplied to 500 households identified by the Government of Niue. The tanks will increase community resilience to climate variability and change, including periodic drought, and provide access to safe drinking water when the central supply is disrupted by extreme weather conditions.

The householders need to install guttering, down pipes and fascia boards at their own cost to receive a tank. A tank will eventually be made available for every household in Niue.



Funding for the facility and materials was provided by the European Union (EU), the Government of Australia and the Global Environment Fund. The Niue Department of Environment and the Department of Water combined project funding from the three sources to more comprehensively address the present and future needs of the local community.

The Australian government and the Global Environment Fund are contributing through the Pacific Adaptation to Climate Change (PACC) project and the PACC+ project, both implemented by the Secretariat of the Pacific Regional Environment Programme.

Galloway International of Auckland, New Zealand supplied the equipment and training. The facility is now operated and maintained by Niue nationals. Further technical assistance and training to support this initiative will be provided by SPC over the coming two years. Future uses of the facility may include manufacturing septic tanks and garbage bins.

SPC is supporting climate and disaster resilient development in 23 Pacific Island countries and territories with support from development partners, including the EU, the Government of Australia, the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) and the United States Agency for International Development.

For further information contact:

Sean Hobbs, Climate Change Communications and Information Officer, <u>seanh@spc.int</u>, +679 753 8426

Background information:

The Secretariat of the Pacific Community (SPC) celebrated 66 years of service to Pacific Island countries and territories in 2013.

SPC works in the following sectors: fisheries, agriculture, forestry, water resources, geoscience, transport, energy, disaster risk management, public health, statistics, education, human rights, gender, youth and culture.

Publications: SPC publications are available on its website (<u>www.spc.int/en/publications.html</u>).

SPC member countries and territories: American Samoa, Australia, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, France, French Polynesia, Guam, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Niue, Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Pitcairn Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, United States of America, Vanuatu, Wallis and Futuna.

Disclaimer:

This publication has been produced with the assistance of the European Union. The contents of this publication are the sole responsibility of the Secretariat of the Pacific Community and can in no way be taken to reflect the views of the European Union.